Skip to content

Foreign Countries

January 16, 2012

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill Herman permalink
    January 16, 2012 11:08 pm

    In the history of posting, this one will shine forever.Not just because I am yr Uncle, but because in one of my shifting IDs, I’m known as a man of unassailable ideas. This project of yours–flicking a finger to unsetlle structures (genders, sexualities, attachments of all sorts that SEEm so)–is what I take to be the life of the mind.

  2. Bill Herman permalink
    January 16, 2012 11:10 pm

    I forgot to say: your drawing is the THEOLOGY of sketchwork

  3. Lucia permalink
    January 18, 2012 6:53 pm

    Wow, Anna, Auntie Jo and I were talking about something very like this over the weekend as we looked out the window of our hotel at the old Holland Hughes building in Waterbury. It was one of our favorite places in town as kids; the best department store with a magical toy department. Looking down from the 9th floor was like looking down into our past, into another place we used to occupy. This is a dazzling notion you express here. That shifting age is an identity shift we ALL experience. It opens out our capacity to think about other identity shifts. AJ and I were talking about the startling reality of approaching 70. One looks in the mirror and sees the undeniable evidence of years….and though the years have also made deep interior impressions and (welcome) alterations….we don’t FEEL old! A slow motion shifting identity? Or is it just that we don’t speak broken English!!

  4. January 21, 2012 6:32 pm

    Anna,

    What can I say? I want this posted everywhere. I’m going to send it out to my Italian American Women’s collective, Malia. I also want it to go to the Cultural Gabfest. I’m going to see if I can post it there myself. I love the drawings and the ideas, but I am always a fan of your ideas about how to see through a different lens.

Leave a comment