Skip to content

Mary

July 17, 2010

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 6:03 am

    Anna, this is an awesome achievement!!

  2. Sara permalink
    July 17, 2010 11:44 am

    Wow, I had no idea. So much was lost in the cheerful, lipstick-heavy, sweet disney character that I always associated with Mary. I agree – the impatient she-shaman you illustrate is a much clearer match for the somber yet fantastic realities of childhood. I was always drawn to Narnia (and before that, peter rabbit, which I apparently memorised the entirety of and could recite by heart – a gift I lost by the time I learned to read) – magical realms where there was much important work to do in order to save the world. Which might explain the difficulty I have in weaning myself from the desire to save the ‘world’ (or at least anyone in my surrounding area) today……
    I am SO THRILLED about this blog. I can’t wait for more entries.
    Is it possible to upload illustrated replies?

    • July 17, 2010 3:19 pm

      Sara I LOVE the idea of illustrated replies…other stories… other image from our “wild and private” places (as Margaret Wise Brown described childhood). Not sure, but let me snoop around about that – either way I’m honored to have your feedback in prose or image!

  3. Becky permalink
    July 17, 2010 4:33 pm

    I too only knew about the Disney character. So fascinating! I can’t wait for the next post!

  4. Bill Herman permalink
    July 17, 2010 5:01 pm

    Wow. The Muddartist strikes again! Transfirmative. What you meet when you confrront art.

  5. July 17, 2010 5:17 pm

    Yes! I read and loved those books as a kid! I loved how powerful she was! I think this might have been my first connection with magical realism. I remember specifically the kiss from the sun, and it made me think about how ordinary people can be really special. Yes! about her nonchalance about the whole having magical powers and all.

  6. Diane Moore permalink
    July 17, 2010 8:01 pm

    Oh, how fabulous! I love this, and congratulations!

  7. July 17, 2010 9:07 pm

    Anna, this is magical. What a gift you’ve given to inspire us to see Mary Poppins in this way. I always cherish your creations. Thank you for sharing. I’m passing it on to everyone I know. 🙂

    BTW. Speaking of arts and mysticism, I’m writing from a Waldorf Teacher training program at Antioch in New Hampshire. Another adventure… Have thought of you many times here. How nice when one’s homework assignments always include the direction “and illustrate it.” Must catch up sometime soon!

    Love, Noe

    • July 29, 2010 7:46 pm

      Noe I am so happy and excited to hear that you are pursuing Waldorf! I so look forward to hearing about your continued experience, and thank you so much for your kind words here!

  8. July 17, 2010 10:24 pm

    You could not possibly cease to amaze. This is beautiful and of magnificent depth. I love you.

  9. July 22, 2010 4:47 pm

    YOU TOTALLY ROCK!!!

    I love this. Thanks for sharing, I can’t wait for more…
    -K

Leave a Reply

