Skip to content

buona ma brutti

August 28, 2011

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nan permalink
    August 28, 2011 8:59 pm

    Strong message, well told. Honoring the ugly. Yes!

  2. herwitz permalink
    August 28, 2011 9:37 pm

    So glad to see some new stuff from you! Now I understand that snake man…

    Also, my first thought on this: what about the evolutionary function of “ugly?” Just as it is valuable for us to avoid smells we interpret as aversive, isn’t it the same for sights? I know that there are a lot of cultural issues that have removed us from those basics, but are they still relevant?

    • August 28, 2011 9:41 pm

      @ herwitz I am biologically predisposed to avoid claims about evolutionary psychology.

  3. August 28, 2011 10:27 pm

    Very happy to see a new post! This comes at a very interesting reflection point in my life where I struggle with the meanings and roles of beauty and ugly within me, in the surrounding world, and the bridges between.

    Also interesting when I read the definitions above – the use of “unnatural.” A lot of what the ‘media/hollywood’ mainstream world deems ugly is natural, and they seek beauty by unnatural means.

    I hope you put more of your reflections on this, though I know it is quite the personal topic to share.

  4. August 28, 2011 10:39 pm

    Thank you, powerful message.

  5. August 30, 2011 8:13 pm

    I love this length and format – keep it coming! Published needn’t always be synonymous with polished and perfected, anyway.

  6. August 31, 2011 12:14 am

    As is usual with you nipota
    I am stunned and amazed, powerfully impacted and moved. What is the ugly in you trying to teach you? What a great question. I think of my naked body at night sitting on the side of the bed where unfortunately I can see the grotesque of my body so clearly hanging there for me to have to notice–so profoundly reminding me of the young body I once had lost so long ago. I think it teaches me how what seems to belong to you, to be so deeply a part of you is only habit.

    I’m writing a piece on the body for a conference in which I’m writing about Grandpa and his love of heights–a nice simultaneousness.

    Buona ma Brutte what a great title.

    I love the way you go off where people don’t go. Can you tell me if any of this was set off by Tolve?

    I

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

