Skip to content

Teacher Story

November 1, 2010



18 Comments leave one →
  1. michaela permalink
    November 1, 2010 2:59 am

    this is awesome.

    • November 1, 2010 3:01 am

      Thanks! It really means a lot to me to get feedback on what I’m posting here.

  2. Paz permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:21 am

    This is nothing short of amazing… dammit anna you just keep getting better! all the color work here is incredible. the frame with the super teacher really showcases a beautiful original style.

    (gush gush)

    • November 1, 2010 3:23 am

      Considering you are one of the most talented people I know, this means a lot – thank you!!!

  3. Leafy permalink
    November 1, 2010 4:05 am

    Anna, It’s beauitiful. I LOVE the color washes! But your exploration is so fine. “The truth is I was (am) both”, is so liberating to come to. It leaves you free to try and fail. So key to finding your way through to the times you (and the kids) try and fly away.

    • November 1, 2010 11:41 am

      Yes! I love how Kate Bornstein points out that this is true in so many contexts.

  4. November 1, 2010 4:24 am

    Anna–this is beautiful! I feel humbled by your exploration of the teaching process.

    • November 1, 2010 11:40 am

      Thank you so much! I know you are lending your talents to this world, yourself, and I’m honored that my reflections were of interest.

  5. MyNameIsNada permalink
    November 2, 2010 1:42 am

    I enjoyed most of all your pointing out of the “wild country” of teaching. I had a similar thought last week when a friend asked how my day went and I felt obligated to tell either a funny, aggravating, or inspiring moment. Having none of these, I shared nothing, even though my day had been filled with these brief, simple moments with my students that I didn’t feel were good enough to tell.

  6. November 15, 2010 1:14 pm

    This is so beautiful. Thank you. In the mix of watercolor, handwriting, and graphic novel, the imprint of the teacher story, however briefly lived, is so powerfully conveyed. I am so appreciative and moved.

  7. Simcha permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:58 am

    Great art work, Anna! I love the water color addition and also how you leave room for nuance in the tendency towards absolute truth.

  8. December 30, 2010 8:46 am

    I love this so much. I keep coming back to it. It’s so beautiful, the colour and the renderings, the content, the pondering. It makes me miss SWS, my high school program, a lot, and constantly discussing teaching and learning and the evolution thereof, especially unschooling and unschooling-descended education. Sigh.

  9. Sara Wolcott permalink
    March 17, 2011 1:00 pm

    wow. beautiful just beautiful

Trackbacks

  1. Spectacular post on the journey of teaching « Pedagogies of Abundance
  2. Still Here, Still Learning « Research in Practice
  3. Spectacular post on the journey of teaching « Kirsten Olson

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

